Type to search

Winners Announced for The Tenth Annual Photo Competition For United Nations World Oceans Day

Winners Announced for The Tenth Annual Photo Competition For United Nations World Oceans Day

Listen to this story:

Six First Place Winners Selected from Thousands of Global Photo Submissions Surrounding 2023 Theme Planet Ocean: Tides Are Changing

The winners of the tenth annual Photo Competition for United Nations World Oceans Day were announced today during the United Nations World Oceans Day (UNWOD) 2023 live broadcast event at the UN Headquarters in New York by Actor Lucas Bravo. The free competition, which launched this past March, explored the six thematic categories linked to the overarching 2023 World Oceans day theme: ‘Planet Ocean: Tides Are Changing’.

World-renowned judges including Rajan wildlife photographer Rathika Ramasamy (India), wildlife photographer Rajan Desai (USA), underwater fine art wildlife photographer Ipah Uid Lynn (Malaysia) and photographer, filmmaker and director Antoine Janssens (Switzerland), selected first, second, and third place winners for the categories: Ocean Is Life, The Wonderful World of Tides, Putting the Ocean Fist, No Time to Waste, Underwater Seascapes, and Big and Small Underwater Faces.

See related article: United Nations To Host “Planet Ocean: Tides Are Changing” as the 2023 Theme for Annual World Oceans Day Event 

Winners were selected from the thousands of global entries made by both amateur and professional photographers. The tenth annual Photo Competition is coordinated in collaboration between the United Nations Division for Ocean Affairs and the Law of the Sea, DivePhotoGuide (DPG), Ellen Cuylaerts, Oceanic Global, Nausicaa and the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission of UNESCO (IOC/UNESCO).

Winning Photos Per Category & Corresponding Captions Can be Viewed Here.

* All photos must include the caption with photographer credit listed per photo, as well as www.unworldoceansday.org to be published. 

The 2023 winning photographers hail from over 14 different countries. Their names include: Their names include: Álvaro Herrero (Mekan), Simon Lorenz, Ines Goovaerts (“No Time to Waste”), Tom Shlesinger, Edwar Herreño Parra (“Putting the Ocean First”), Chris Gug, Sina Ritter, Alex Permiakov (“The Wonderful World of Tides”), Shane Gross, Niklas Manger, Rachel Moore (“Ocean Is Life”), Glenn Ostle, Simon Temple, Adriano Morettin (“Big and Small Underwater Faces”), Andy Schmid, Mayumi Takeuchi-Ebbins, Simon Biddie (“Underwater Seascapes”). All participants signed a Charter of 14 commitments regarding ethics in photography. The United Nations World Oceans Day Photo Competition is an ongoing tradition that calls on photographers and artists from around the world to communicate the beauty of the ocean and the importance of the respective UNWOD themes each year. Winning photos from past years can additionally be seen at www.unworldoceansday.org.

Related Articles